Stress and the News

“I do not take a single newspaper nor read one a month, and I feel myself infinitely the happier for it.”                         – Thomas Jefferson

For many, including myself, the search for happiness is elusive.  Of late I have been drawn to identify influences in my “retirement” life that adversely affect my state of happiness and I’m wondering if others lives are disrupted by my disruptors.  Take a look.

1.  I come home from whatever it is my wife and I are doing and turn on fox news.  It doesn’t take long for me to start saying things to the television that I wouldn’t repeat here.  I also review periodically the “mainstream” media as a way to find “balance” in the news. Again my blood pressure starts to rise when I see the spin, spin, spin.  solution #1 Follow Thomas Jefferson’s advice.

2.  I have a see food diet.  I see food – I eat it.  I look at myself in a suit and I think, I don’t look too bad, then I look at myself in the mirror when I step out of the shower and I think, you have no discipline. Solution #2:  Stop the late night snacks.

3.  I worry about the future.  Will we ever be rid of our dysfunctional government? Will my investments be safe?  Will my children and grandchildren be obedient and happy?  Solution #3:  Play more golf.  Go fishing more often.  Act on things I can control and stop thinking about things I cannot control.  Hike more often.  Read positive messages every day.

Leave a Reply

